Your Regional Guide To The Performing Arts

Chicago Shakespeare Theater

Join us for one of our city’s favorite summer traditions! Now in its eighth year, the FREE FOR ALL Chicago Shakespeare in the Parks tour heads out to neighborhood parks across the north, west, and south sides of the city with a 75-minute abridged production. At each location, a specially equipped truck rolls into the park, a stage unfolds, and a company of professional actors shares Shakespeare’s hilarious The Comedy of Errors with families and neighbors of all ages.

The citywide tour is made possible by a renewed civic, cultural, and corporate partnership between Chicago Shakespeare Theater, the City of Chicago, Chicago Park District, Boeing, and BMO Harris Bank. Since the inception of the Chicago Shakespeare in the Parks program eight years ago, more than 155,000 Chicagoans have taken advantage of free performances in their communities.

Staged and adapted by Jeff Award-winning director and choreographer David H. Bell,  the story unfolds when Antipholus and his lifelong servant Dromio find themselves in Ephesus as they search the world over for a twin, lost in infancy. Everywhere they go in this foreign land, complete strangers insist that they’re best of friends. Is everyone here quite mad? Mistaken identities abound, as one bewildering day in Ephesus makes for hilarious complications—and a bewitching theatrical experience.


Navy Pier | Polk Bros Park Performance Lawn

Thu, July 18 at 7:00 pm
Fri, July 19 at 7:00 pm
Sat, July 20 at 7:00 pm

Garfield Park

Tue, July 23 at 6:30 pm

Gage Park
Wed, July 24 at 6:30 pm

Kelvyn Park
Thu, July 25 at 6:30 pm

Eckhart Park
Fri, July 26 at 6:30 pm

Loyola Park
Sat, July 27 at 6:30 pm
 Sun, July 28 at 6:30 pm

Columbus Park
Tue, July 30 at 6:30 pm

Tuley Park
Wed, July 31 at 6:30 pm

Dvorak Park
Thu, August 1 at 6:30 pm

Aurora, IL | RiverEdge Park
Sat, August 3 at 6:30 pm

Ellis Park
Sun, August 4 at 6:30 pm

Frank J. Wilson Park
Tue, August 6 at 6:30 pm
 Wed, August 7 at 6:30 pm

Humboldt Park
Thu, August 8 at 6:30 pm
Fri, August 9 at 6:30 pm

Ridge Park
 Sat, August 10 at 6:30 pm

Calumet Park
 Sun, August 11 at 6:30 pm

Ogden Park
Wed, August 14 at 6:30 pm

Piotrowski Park
 Thu, August 15 at 6:30 pm

Welles Park
Fri, August 16 at 6:30 pm
 Sat, August 17 at 6:30 pm

Ping Tom Memorial Park
 Sun, August 18 at 6:30 pm



Share this with your friends:

Dinner & A Show

St. Camillius
Pella
Sebert
Hilldale