Your Regional Guide To The Performing Arts

Presented by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Taking inspiration from Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony, Tchaikovsky’s Fourth explores fate, progressing from dark despair to defiant triumph. John Storgårds leads this powerfully expressive work, along with the first CSO performance of the deeply moving blue cathedral by Jennifer Higdon, winner of the 2018 Nemmers Prize in Music Composition. The dazzling Ray Chen, making his CSO subscription series debut, brings his “liquid tone that carries with it emotional depth of great intimacy” (The Huffington Post) to the youthful bravura of Wieniawski’s First Violin Concerto.


Higdon blue cathedral
Wieniawski Violin Concerto No. 1
Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 4



Share this with your friends:

Dinner & A Show

StJohns - Superblock
St. Camillius
Pier 106